American Association of Bovine Practitioners and Zoetis Award Veterinary Student Scholarships at 2016 AABP Conference

Sixteen students receive support for careers in large-animal veterinary medicine

FLORHAM PARK, N.J., September 30, 2016 — Sixteen veterinary students from across the country were presented scholarships Friday, Sept. 16 at the 49th Annual Conference of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) in Charlotte, North Carolina, through the AABP Foundation – Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholarship program. The fourth-year veterinary students each received a $5,000 scholarship and travel to the conference.

“The AABP Foundation and Zoetis collaborate to provide students with an opportunity which not only relieves some financial pressure from the cost of their classroom education but also provides them with an opportunity to pursue AABP Annual Conference related networking and educational opportunities,” said M. Gatz Riddell Jr., DVM, executive vice president, AABP. “The combination of financial support and experience gained has an immeasurable impact on the scholarship recipients’ careers.”

The AABP Foundation – Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholarship program, established in 2009, was created to help encourage and support careers in large-animal veterinary medicine as part of the Zoetis Commitment to Veterinarians™ initiative. Scholarship applicants must be entering their senior year of veterinary school and are evaluated on academic performance, essay submission and involvement in bovine medicine and related extracurricular activities.

“We believe the combination of financial, experiential and mentorship support helps shape future veterinary leaders to support producers in raising healthy animals and producing safe food,” said Doug Braun, DVM, veterinary segment manager at Zoetis. “We have a strong veterinary community and know connecting students with these established leaders will continue to strengthen our industry.”

2016 AABP Foundation – Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholarship recipients include:
• Kelsey Arellano, University of Florida
• Dan Breuer, Iowa State University
• Kaitlyn Briggs, Cornell University
• Ross Chewning, University of Georgia
• Lisa Dauten, Purdue University
• Brandon Debbink, University of Wisconsin
• Fred Gromalak, The Royal School of Veterinary Studies
• Erica Izer, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
• Jared Lyzenga, Michigan State University
• Drew Neilley, Ohio State University
• Aaron Pospisil, Ohio State University
• Brandon Scharping, University of Wisconsin
• Julia Simons, University of Wisconsin
• Alan Smith, Mississippi State University
• Jennifer Storer, University of Tennessee
• Ellen Unruh, Kansas State University

“I had the privilege of working with a group of veterinarians who inspired me to continue my education. However, with yearly tuition increases, the cost can be prohibitive. Through the scholarship, I will be able to explore new opportunities and continue to broaden my horizon in the cattle industry,” said Ross Chewning, scholarship recipient and veterinary student at the University of Georgia.

In addition to scholarships, the Zoetis Commitment to Veterinarians initiative also supports the future of the veterinary profession through training and education, research and development and philanthropy. Visit to learn more.

About Zoetis
Zoetis (zô-EH-tis) is the leading animal health company, dedicated to supporting its customers and their businesses. Building on more than 60 years of experience in animal health, Zoetis discovers, develops, manufactures and markets veterinary vaccines and medicines, complemented by diagnostic products and genetic tests and supported by a range of services. Zoetis serves veterinarians, livestock producers and people who raise and care for farm and companion animals with sales of its products in more than 100 countries. In 2015, the company generated annual revenue of $4.8 billion with approximately 9,000 employees. For more information, visit

For Further information, contact :
Kelly Hoogeveen

Kassi Hoxmeier
Bader Rutter

Zoetis Award

Download a photo of the 2016 AABP Foundation – Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholarship recipients. Suggested photo caption: Sixteen veterinary students receive 2016 AABP Foundation – Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholarships at the 49th AABP Annual Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina. Front row (L-R): Erica Izer, Kaitlyn Briggs, Aaron Pospisil, Lisa Dauten, Jennifer Storer, Dr. Roger Saltman, Jon Lowe. Back row (L-R): Dr. Glenn Rogers, Ellen Unruh, Alan Smith, Brandon Scharping, Dan Breuer, Ross Chewning, Drew Neilley, Kelsey Arellano, Dr. Doug Braun. Not pictured: Julia Simons, Brandon Debbink, Fred Gromalak and Jared Lyzenga.



Mon–Fri, 8:30am–6:30pm ET

This site is intended for U.S. Animal Healthcare Professionals. The product information provided in this site is intended only for residents of the United States. The products discussed herein may not have marketing authorization or may have different product labeling in different countries. The animal health information contained herein is provided for educational purposes only and is not intended to replace discussions with an animal healthcare professional. All decisions regarding the care of a veterinary patient must be made with an animal healthcare professional, considering the unique characteristics of the patient.

All trademarks are the property of Zoetis Services LLC or a related company or a licensor unless otherwise noted. ©2022 Zoetis Services LLC. All rights reserved.